European Commission appoints the members of the Bioeconomy Panel

Berlaymont, European Commission's Headquarter in Brussels
Berlaymont, European Commission’s Headquarter in Brussels

The European Commission has selected and appointed the 30 members of the Bioeconomy Panel, a new platform for informed discussions on the Bioeconomy.

These experts represent a wide variety of interests – scientific community and researchers, primary producers, industry, policy-makers, and civil society – and they are nominated for an initial mandate of 2 years.

Their role is to closely assist the Commission in the implementation of the Bioeconomy Strategy in Europe.

The panel will suggest and foster European joint actions and measures in the domain of Bioeconomy (taking into account inputs from the Bioeconomy Observatory and other initiatives).

The first meeting will be held in September 2013. The panel members were selected from a pool of more than 250 experts following an open call for applications launched by the Commission earlier this year.

The mission of the 30 experts is to reflect on the implementation of the Bioeconomy Strategy, with the aim to reinforce interaction between policies, initiatives and economic sectors related to the bioeconomy at EU and member state level to improve coherence and synergies, building on the work of existing mechanisms.

They will encourage the creation of bioeconomy panels at national and regional level, support initiatives at national and regional level, in particular for the exchange of best-practices between new and established national and regional bioeconomy strategies, that will be encouraged. Finally, they will monitor and evaluate progress of the Bioeconomy Strategy implementation in a systematic manner, working closely with the Bioeconomy Observatory and other initiatives relevant to the bioeconomy.

The list of the panelists:

Name Nationality Professional Title Membership Status
Beate KETTLITZ Germany Director Food Policy, Science and R&D, FoodDrinkEurope Member
Carmen MILLAN-CHACARTEGUI Spain Project Promotion and Institutional Relations Manager, Abengoa Bioenergia Nuevas Tecnologias Member
Carmen SOCACIU Romania Vicerector for Research & Technological Development & Innovation, Dept. Agrifood Biochemistry & Biotechnology Member
Christine BUNTHOF Netherlands Senior policy officer, Stichting Dienst Landbouwkundig Onderzoek DLO (part of Wageningen UR) Member
Christophe RUPP-DAHLEM France Programs Director Plant-Based Chemistry, ROQUETTE FRERES Member
Courtney HOUGH United Kingdom General Secretary, Federation of European Aquaculture Producers Member
Cristina L.M. SILVA Portugal Associate Professor, Principal Investigator, Coordinator of 3rd cycle degrees, Catholic University of Portugal – Bioechnology College Member
Dominique BARJOLLE MUSARD France Deputy Director (FiBL) and Lecturer – Researcher (ETH), FiBL – Research Institute of Organic Farming and ETHZ – Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Member
Dorette CORBEY Netherlands Chairman / director, Dutch panel on sustainable biomass (Chairman) Dutch Emissions Authority (Chairman) Council on science and innovation (AWT) (Director) Member
Doris SCHNABEL Germany Head of Section Bioeconomy / Biotechnology, Ministry of Innovation, Science and Research of the German State of North Rhine-Westphalia Member
Electra PAPADOPOULOU Greece Senior researcher on Bio-products, R&D Department, CHIMAR Hellas S.A. Greece Member
Emilia DEN BOER Poland Assistant Professor, Section of Waste Technology and Land Remediation, Institute of Environment Protection, Wroclaw University of Technology Member
Eva CUDLINOVA Czech Republic Head of department Structural policy of EU and rural developement, University of South Bohemia, Economic faculty department Structural policy of EU and rural developement Member
Holger ZINKE Germany Chief Executive Officer CEO / Vorsitzender des Vorstands, BRAIN Aktiengesellschaft Member
Hordur KRISTINSSON Iceland Research Director of Matis and Director of Division of Biotechnology and Biomolecules, Matis Ltd (Icelandic Food and Biotechnology R&D Institute) Member
Jim PHILIP United Kingdom Policy Analyst, Industrial Biotechnology, Marine Biotechnology, Environmental Biotechology and Synthetic Biology, Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Member
Joanna DUPONT-INGLIS United Kingdom Director, Industrial Biotechnology, EuropaBio – The European Association of Bioindustries (Brussels) Member
Johan ELVNERT Sweden Manager/Director, FTP Sprl Member
Kjell IVARSSON Sweden Vice-chair of the Working Party on Research and Innovation in Copa-Cogeca, Federation of Swedish Farmers (LRF) – member of Copa and Cogeca Member
Monika SORMANN Austria Senior policy adviser, Flemish Government – Department Economy, Science and Innovation Member
Nathaniel PAGE United Kingdom Director, Fundatia ADEPT Transilvania Member
Niels GOTKE Denmark Head of Divsion, Ministry of Science, Innovation and Higher Education – Danish Agency for Science, Technology and Innovation Member
Peter PICKEL Germany Deputy Director and Manager External Relations, John Deere GmbH & Co. KG European Technology Innovation Center Member
Peter SCHINTLMEISTER Austria Senior Technology Officer Life Sciences, Federal Ministry of Economy, Family and Youth, Austria Member
Richard HOWELL Ireland Senior Inspector and Head of Research & Codex Division, Irish Departement of Agriculture, Food and the Marine Member
Sarunas ZABLECKIS Lithuania Policy Officer, WWF European Policy Office Member
Sirpa KURPPA Finland Research professor on sustainable bioeconomy, MTT Agrifood Research Finland Member
Stanislaw BIELECKI Poland Rector, Lodz University of Technology Member
Vjekoslav TICINA Croatia Senior scientist, Institute of Oceanography and Fisheries Member

Source: European Commission

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.